Featured Artist: Kennis Baptiste

Age: 44

Hometown/ Current town:  Grenada WI / Brooklyn NY

Job description:  Electrical Engineer / Visual Artist

 

Bio:  Instead of traveling the road of an artist, I decided to concentrate on scientific disciplines such as math and science. I later obtained a degree in Electrical Engineering and am currently working in that field. My creative mind was always there during that journey.

I started my artistic journey by experimenting with acrylic and oil paints. I later started to study and experiment with different abstract ways of capturing movement and energy using curves and circles.  During this experimental period, I was able to find my own unique style of expression.

As my art form slowly evolved, the quality of my paintings improved and my knowledge and interest in fine arts also increased. As an urban self-taught artist of African and Caribbean descent, I believe that inspiration can be found almost anywhere.  All one has to do is open their eyes, keep an open mind and draw their inspiration from what they see in their community and in the world.

k_baptiste-1

I am inspired by the works of Impressionist painters such as Picasso, Monet, and Matisse. My art is also influenced by mentors, friends and fellow artists in the fine arts community.  I feel that art is a science and knowledge is the key to its success.  I will continue to educate myself as I continue to travel on my artistic journey.

 

What are you currently working on? A painting series dedicated to J’Ouvert on the Island of Grenada.

 

What materials do you work with? Acrylic on Canvas, Pencil on Paper, and Mix Media.

 

What’s your art background? Self Educated, learning something new every day.

 

What’s been happening in your life? A constant challenge with time working as an electrical engineer and a visual artist.

%ef%80%a0shortkneel2%ef%80%a0-acrylic-on-canvas-36%ef%80%a0-x-48%ef%80%a0-the-olde-carnnival-series

What’s next for you? To introduce the world to the visual work of Kennis Baptiste.

 

Describe your current state of mind. Motivated: I have some great new ideas, I just need the time to implement them.

 

What’s inspiring you? Life, Nature, Movement, Curves, People, The Geometry of Life.

k_baptiste-2

Do you have any exhibits currently/ or coming up/ or past exhibits you’d like to mention?

Current: Rush Arts Philly, Guerrillas In The Midst

Upcoming: The Artisan Series semi-finals in New York, NY, RUSH ARTS GALLERY

526 W 26th St #311, New York, NY 10001, NOVEMBER 7ND, 6PM-9PM

 

Is any of your work political? Some of my paintings were inspired by major political events in history and focus on war, race, and the history of slavery.   

 

What are you trying to communicate with your art? The simplicity of beauty.

%ef%80%a0shortkneel4%ef%80%a0-acrylic-on-canvas-59%ef%80%a0-x-44%ef%80%a0-the-olde-carnnival-series

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist? Maintaining consistency.

 

How has the meaning of your work changed over time? The meaning hasn’t changed, it’s slowly evolving in more unique and creative realms but still maintaining the signature style of expression.

 

Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet? Sculptures.

 

 

What is your dream project? To retire as an Engineer and be free to create full time.

sorrel-4abc

Are you involved with any organizations? For the past eight years I’ve been on the Boards of several local art organizations. I’ve recently resigned to focus more on my artwork.

 

Do you regularly collaborate with other artists? Yes, currently collaborating with the collective Guerrillas In The Midst.

 

What are a few favorite spots in your area? Fort Greene, Clinton Hill, and Bedford Stuyvesant.

 

What are you reading? Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman.

abstract-penatration-no-6-acrylic-on-canvas-16%ef%80%a0x16%ef%80%a0

Favorite comic strips/ comic books/ graphic novels? Marvel Comics.

 

What are you listening to these days? Instrumentals of my favorite songs.

 

What was the last exhibit you attended? Art Sanctuary Philadelphia “Danny Simmons: Mostly Philly.”

 

Your website: www.kennisbaptiste.com 

jouvert_morning_acrylic-on-canvas-66%ef%80%a0-x-56%ef%80%a0

Leave a Reply

