Featured Artist: KRA!

Age: 26 years old

Hometown: Philadelphia, PA 

Upcoming projects:  Graff comic book and bigger installs

Select links:bigger and better

Describe your work; what themes and concepts does your work generally revolve around?

“It’s mainly graffiti based, artsy or sometimes a combination of the both. I try to do be in my own lane, because people aren’t interested in people that follow trends. So, my themes and concept you can say it’s “trendsetting.”

20160418_181342

What materials do you work with?

“I work with acrylics or oil-based paint on any kind of canvas material.”

 

What are you currently working on?

“I am currently working on a series of paintings. I wish I could go into detail but their top secret. I am also working on a art swap box, so people can leave their art in for exchange for someone else’s.”

 

What kind of creative patterns, routines or rituals do you have?

“I try to paint everyday, so I have these artistic blocks some days. To get around that block I draw a bunch of sketches until an idea occurs. For the most part, it works I’ve been getting a lot of work done. I’m usually working on something everyday no days off from art.”

20160331_154625

What’s your art background?

“I just been drawing my whole life, never been to any type of art school besides the one that’s provided in public schools.”

 

What’s inspiring you?

“Artists I have been around from the older ones to the ones around my age. Artists like: KeechD.t.arts, Brenstah, Mr.Bear, Garbage Grease, etc.”

 

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?

“My only challenge is art supplies, because their quite expensive.”

20160418_170621

Are you involved with any organizations?

“Not at the time, but I am open to any offers.”

 

Do you collaborate with other artists?

“Yes, I collaborated with a few artists. Talking to a couple more about collaborating.”

 

What are a few of your favorite spots in your area?

“Tattooed moms and Get it gallery.”

20160412_133120

Favorite comic strips/ comic books/ graphic novels?

“Batman! hands-down.”

 

What are you listening to these days?

“Deftones.”

 

What was the first piece of artwork you bought/ do you buy a lot of artwork?

“I be kind of low on money so I can’t really afford anyone’s’ art. But I brought

a framed 5’x7” piece from As Above So Below.”

 

Your website(s):

KrazyKra.com

20160331_152548

 

Leave a Reply

