Featured Artist: Jingsi Li

Age: 24

Hometown: Changsha  in China  

Current town:  Philadelphia

Job description:   MFA student in PAFA

Describe your work.   

Several cityscapes which include many people. Through various observations or view points.

image6

What themes and concepts does your work generally revolve around?

I’m trying to show the multiple world which is inclusive of space, dimensionality, time, culture, perspective, individual perceptions, and so on.

What materials do you work with?

A number of drawings on paper which are charcoal, soft pastel and new pastel.

Also I do oil and acrylic on Canvas paintings.

What are you currently working on?

Working on my painting series.

What kind of creative patterns, routines or rituals do you have?

Besides painting in the day, I often paint at night; the night is always an heuristic time.

image7

What’s your art background?

I learned drawing basics as a child, perspective and techniques since I was 7 years old.

I studied academic art since high school.

I majored in Visual Communication for my undergraduate degree in China and studied 2 years of Illustration toward an MFA in San Francisco.

What’s next for you?

I will get the MFA at PAFA in 2017.

image5

Describe your current state of mind.

I attempt to elaborate on the complexity of the multiple dimensional world, how the elements—time, space…how the elements constitute the world.

Although each individual person has different perceptions about their likes, their cultural background…in my opinion, we all experience and look for our own different worlds, which combine into the WHOLE. 

Describe various perspectives of the world, interweave them into each other, use both the abstract and representational forms, to reveal the reality of the nature of the universe.

What’s inspiring you?

Cuspidate theory in science (physics) inspires me a lot.

String theory, and other theories which explore the nature of the particles of the universe.

image3

Do you have any exhibits coming up/ past exhibits you’d like to mention?

I joined the Joint Exhibition In U Arts in 2015 fall.

Is any of your work political?

Nope but I guess I will create some in the future.

What are you trying to communicate with your art?

The reality, the nature of the world of our 3-dimensional perception.

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?

Financial problems, like finding a good job.

How has the meaning of your work changed over time?

In the beginning I just wanted to show my perception of the environment, like the city. Then I tried to overlap those different scenes. And now I’m working on multiple theory.

image2

What do you dislike about your work?

The representational forms, like the brush strokes, and especially how I deal with the background and the edges.

Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet?

Watercolor, and oil bar, wood panel.

What is your dream project?

Create several technical installations that relate to my paintings.

Are you involved with any organizations.

Now I’m a full time student in PAFA.

image1

Favorite artists and why?

Picasso, he really opened the door to the revolutionary art works which show a new way to look at the world, and expressed perception about the globalization.

People in your field whom you most admire:

Picasso, Van Gogh, Monet.

What are you reading?

Postmodernism and comtemporary theory.

Favorite authors, fiction:  3-body by Cixin, Liu.

image4

Additional favorite authors: Shakespeare

Favorite comic strips/ comic books/ graphic novels?

Marvel’s.

What was the last show you attended?

Last year for Juzhou music festival in my hometown Changsha.

What was the last exhibit you attended?

ADAA at Park Avenue Armory in NYC.

Your website(s):

Instagram: Jslibra

Facebook: Jingsi Li

Leave a Reply

