Featured Artist: Brian K. Foster

Age: 25
Current town:  Philadelphia
Bio:  Philadelphia native photographer, focused on bringing reality and life to the world through photos that are artistic yet relatable.
Select links: Instagram @K1ngtrue
Describe your work. My work is an extension of my personality that most people don’t get to see.

DSC_0333

What themes and concepts does your work generally revolve around? My theme at the moment is mostly Street Art & Every Day Moments, though most of my shoots happen randomly through out the day.
What materials do you work with? I now currently shoot with a Nikon d3300.
What are you currently working on? I am currently building my portfolio.
What kind of creative patterns, routines or rituals do you have? Music! Music is such a vital part of my photography, tapping into the emotion of a song greatly effects the emotions I capture in that moment.
What’s your art background? My background in art is relatively new, seeing how I started some time in late 2013. Since then I have enrolled in The Art Institute to further my knowledge in photography.
DSC_0845
What’s been happening in your life? Nothing really spectacular honestly, just living life day by day and capturing moments on film as I go.
What’s next for you? Not to give out too much detail but, I eventually plan on starting a company that brings fellow artists like myself together, and supplying them with potential job opportunities and giving them creative freedom over what it is they believe to be their bread & butter. This is just a brief description of a business I plan on persuing that touches more than just photography.
Describe your current state of mind. Stressed to be honest, with school and other personal problems going on right now my photography has helped to keep me sane.
What’s inspiring you? Honestly my inspiration has been my fellow students and how many of them release quality photographs, in turn makes me want to push even harder to not just keep up, but eventually become recognized as a great photographer.
DSC_0338
Is any of your work political? I’ve never deliberately tried to make a political photo, but from time to time i hear someone mention some sort of political or racial message they took away from a photograph.
What are you trying to communicate with your art? Simple, life goes on all around us and not just in front of us. To show many different sides of the city and all the art that envelops it.
What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist? Honestly as a photographer the biggest challenge is finding one medium and sticking to it. Therefore I’ve become a very big fan of keeping things new and pushing myself to understand and try new subjects and methods.
DSC_0363
How has the meaning of your work changed over time? Over time my work went from a single focal point in a photo to now having many. Most people who enjoy my work appreciate or focus on different points, where someone else who might view the photo might see something completely different that they believe is the true subject.
What do you dislike about your work? When shooting street art most photographers will agree that having an ever changing environment is exciting, yet we all hate that you usually only have a couple seconds to capture a subject before it’s gone.
Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet? Nude and/ or Vintage/ Noir will be my future pursuit. The elegance and form of the human body intrigues me so much.
DSC_1084
What is your dream project? My dream project is a nude Baroque style photo-shoot with multiple models intertwined with overly dramatic expressions and heavy sexual tension, reminiscent of the work done by photographer Claudia Rogge.
Do you collaborate with other artists? Many of the other artists I work or shoot with are actually my fellow students that attend The Art Institute, every now and then we will go out and capture the city, even showing each other new locations for future photo shoots.
What are a few of your favorite spots in your area? Like most people I love Center City, which has a great mixture of times past and the constantly expanding modern era. The fish market that’s down the street from Gino’s steaks also is a great area because you get to see fresh seafood, produce, and multi-cultural culinary venues. The fish market is like a slice of America at its best. And lastly I’ll say the corner of Cecil B. Moore and Germantown Ave., with its ever-changing graffiti and street art, it just screams beauty and grunge.
DSC_0342
Favorite artists and why? People in your field whom you most admire: Right now photographers Andre D. Wagner and Cory Vanderploeg have really caught my eye, even though they produce separate types of photography, their eye is very skilled and unique.
What are you reading? Nothing interesting as of right now, just been reading blogs and a few articles on photography.
What are you listening to these days? I have grown out of the modern rap garbage that reigns supreme with people my age, and have instead started listening to more indie music. Whether indie RnB, Hip Hop, and even EDM, I feel the raw sound, soul, and originality bring out my inner artist.
DSC_0846
What was the first piece of artwork you bought/ do you buy a lot of artwork? The first piece of artwork I purchased was a sword when I was a freshman in high school. Though I don’t own much art, blacksmithing has always been an art I admired, and I do plan on amassing a nice collection of many different works of art in the future.
Instagram @K1ngtrue
4 thoughts on “Featured Artist: Brian K. Foster

  1. I am extremely proud of you and intrigued by your discussion. I am rooting for you totally. I love the photos that you have posted.

  2. Brian, your photos are beautiful and speak volumes. Wish you all the best. Looking forward to an exhibition & your published collection.

Leave a Reply

