Featured Artist: Erica L’ Etrange

Name: Erica Mounsey. Photography name: Erica L’ Etrange

Age: 26

Hometown: Babylon, NY

Current town:  Philadelphia, PA

Job description:  Photographer/Waitress/seeking other opportunities

Upcoming projects:  Alien Project, 2-D Project, Haus of Lilith project

 

Describe your work.

My work mainly revolves around Surrealism. I want to be the storyteller and have my viewers question the universe.

081814_1912

What themes and concepts does your work generally revolve around?

I have been very attracted to Avant Garde fashion photography. So I usually use my concepts to sell a brand or designer in an unusual way.

 

What materials do you work with? For many years I have been a photography but currently branching into other areas such as graphic design, jewelry design and crafting.

 

What are you currently working on? Decorating a baby raccoon skull. Carving wax for a ring. Working on a few concepts for photos. I have a lot going on.

 

What kind of creative patterns, routines or rituals do you have? Hmmm. I could sit for hours creating mood boards and collecting talent for specific projects. During shoots I like to play music and create a fun environment for everyone.

 

What’s your art background? I went to school for photography at Savannah College of Art and Design.

 

 

What’s been happening in your life.

I just moved to a new city. I am liking the change of scenery. Currently looking for hairstylists, designers, makeup artist, body painters to work with.

Manniquin

What’s next for you? The possibilities are endless.

 

Describe your current state of mind. Hungry.

 

What’s inspiring you?

Inspiration for me is random. Ideas just hit me in the face sometimes

 

Do you have any exhibits coming up/ past exhibits you’d like to mention? No.

 

Is any of your work political?

No.

 

What are you trying to communicate with your art?

I’m just trying to turn heads.

 

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?

Finding people who are interested in working TFP (Time for Print).

 

How has the meaning of your work changed over time?

In a recent project I started concept that focused on a person pyche-Primal vs Civilized-if you will. Other than that it still plays on surrealism.

grief

What do you dislike about your work?

EVERY artist starts to dislike their work after a while. But it’s more insecurities than anything.

 

Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet?

I would love to learn to blow glass. In the process of learning jewelry making and graphic design.

What is your dream project?

Being the creative director for a W magazine shoot.

 

Are you involved with any organizations?

PPA-Professional Photographers of America.

081814_1842

Do you collaborate with other artists? Always. My photo projects always require working within a team. And I prefer it that way. I love combining everyone individual skills to create something beautiful.

 

What are a few of your favorite spots in your area? I really like the look of Tattooed Mom’s in South Philly and Eye’s Gallery. I’m still pretty new to the Philadelphia area.

 

Favorite artists and why? People in your field whom you most admire:  I do have a few artists who I am inspired by. First is Rivenis. He is the creator of Diskorida (Dark-Surreal Graphic Novel)-I recommend you check it out! I am also inspired by the very talented Fabian Vargas who is currently creating his own clothing line-Haus of Lilith. My favorite photographers are Francesca Woodman and Benjamin Von Wong.

 

What are you reading?

Not reading anything atm.

 

Favorite authors, nonfiction: Anne Rice, James Patterson.

 

Favorite comic strips/ comic books/ graphic novels? DISKORDIA and Paradise Kiss.

purplemonster

What are you listening to these days? I listen to everything. But just discovered (two days ago) this awesome American Rock band called Dorothy. In love with her song-Raise Hell.

 

What was the last show you attended? A Sofar Sounds Concert. Secret concerts all over the world 😉

 

What was the last exhibit you attended? Pennsylania Academy of Fine Arts‘ Open Studio Night.

What was the first piece of artwork you bought/ do you buy a lot of artwork? I do not, since I am starving artist myself. Last piece I bought was by KRA. It was a very small mixed media piece (2 inches X 3 inches) of a butterfly.

 

Your website(s): www.ericaletrange.com

Leave a Reply

