Featured Artist: Saeideh Gilani

Age: 35
Hometown: Tehran
Current town: Philadelphia
Job description: Student

Upcoming projects:

Working on New collection with new theme: biological.

5

What themes and concepts does your work generally revolve around?

My works are Abstract and the annunciation of formation of endless new shape.

What materials do you work with?

Totally Acrylic but in some cases mix media.

Where do you work?

In my apartment.

What kind of creative patterns, routines or rituals do you have?

Actually, my patterns are inspired of my mind, and in some cases inspired of my traditional and cultural forms.

What’s your art background?

I am Iranian and my country have strong art history, so it could be valuable source of my background.
Untitled-11

What’s next for you?

My next step is holding an exhibition of my new collection.

What’s inspiring you?

My new collection inspired of microbial and microscope life. I
believe forms and textures are really attracted to me.

Do you have any past exhibits you’d like to mention?

My last exhibition.

Is any of your work political?

No.
888

What are you trying to communicate with your art?

Crawling out, moving beyond the borders, outflow of the shapes all to gain a form.

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?

The one important challenge of my work is connection between concept and whatever is in my mind. I work a lot about semiology, and it is my major challenge in my art works.
05

How has the meaning of your work changed over time?

It depends on my research and my ideas about my painting. It doesn’t happen suddenly, it is moving slowly and continually.

Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet?

Nothing. I work with all mediums.

Are you involved with any organizations?

Associate member of Iranian Painting Association (Since Winter 2014)

777What was the first piece of artwork you bought/ do you buy a lot of artwork?

Yes I love artistic work. The first one I bought is a beautiful painting of one of my famous painters of my country whose name is Homayoon Tak.

Do you collaborate with other artists?

Yes sure. I had group exhibition, which worked together on a specific project.
1

People in your field whom you most admire:

My favorite artist is MARK ROTHKO, because his works are inspired by mythology.

What are you reading?

I read and research about semiology.

Favorite authors, fiction:

Gabriel Garcia Marques

What are you listening to these days?

These days I listen to classic Persian music.

Your website(s):

Untitled-6

 

Leave a Reply

