Featured Artist: Farzaneh Ghiassi

Age:

35

Hometown:

ARAK, IRAN 

Current town:

PHILADELPHIA, PA

Job description:  

PRINT DESIGN INTERN: ANTHROPOLOGIE

GRADUATE STUDENT AT PHILADELPHIA UNIVERSITY

1

Bio:

Born in 1981 Iran

Upcoming projects:  

Design for vinyl surfaces with Armstrong Company

Select links:

Describe your work.

Delicate, fine lines, water color looking, bright colors, feminine sense.

What themes and concepts does your work generally revolve around?

In every project I always search about what is in the air, and what recently flows in the society.  But as an international artist I’m often inspired by both my culture and the traditional elements which are usually combined in my artworks.

8

What materials do you work with?

For drawing I usually use acrylic, watercolor and pastel. And in the print process I use a wide variety of materials from fabrics to wood, metal, plastics, etc.

What are you currently working on?

Technically I am working on UV printing and the different effects on non-porous rigid materials, and aesthetically I’m trying to use the Iranian ethnic motifs and elements for my ongoing designs.

What’s your art background?

I have a Master’s degree in Illustration and a Bachelor’s degree in Textile Design, along with a 1 year certification in fashion design.

10

Describe your current state of mind.

Women’s problems and limitations in different societies.

What’s inspiring you?

Everything that happens around me in my routine life can be a kind of inspiration for me. It just needs strong feelings and sensations, and a little wisdom.

Do you have any exhibits coming up/ past exhibits you’d like to mention?

I had many exhibitions in Iran, and I will have a show in Spring 2016 with Anthropologie Print Design team at Urban Gallery, in the Navy Yard.

2

What are you trying to communicate with your art?

As a surface and textile designer, I mostly work on interior designs and apparels and both are Applied Arts. I research the needs of society and the future of design, to communicate with young and new generations.

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?

How I can make my art works understandable for everybody regarding the differences between cultures. I mean making a worldwide visual language.

How has the meaning of your work changed over time?

When I change my concept my works will be changed.

5

What do you dislike about your work?

I am working with a wide variety of patterns, motifs and elements that change in each season, so sometimes my designs satisfy the clients more than myself, because of the fashion seasons and the themes or the concepts.

Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet?

Water transfer printing.

What is your dream project?

Collaborating with luxury brands like Gucci, Chanel.

Are you involved with any organizations?

I am a member of the Iranian Fashion and Textile Design Association and a member of the Institute for the Promotion of Visual Arts in Iran.

11

What was the first piece of artwork you bought/ do you buy a lot of artwork?

It was an etching print. Not a lot.

Do you collaborate with other artists?

Yes, I was in collaboration with many artists when I was in my country, but I am here for less than one year, so I don’t know many local artists yet.

What are a few of your favorite spots in your area?

Japanese house and garden, Magic Gardens, Rodin Museum.

Favorite artists and why? People in your field whom you most admire:

David Hockney, Frida Kahlo, Klimt.

Hossein chalayan

3

 

Favorite authors, fiction:  

Heinrich Boll, Mikaeel Bulgakov, Hushang Golshiri

Favorite authors, nonfiction:

I prefer to read poems, and my favorite poets are Federico Garcia Lorka, Ahmad Shamloo.

What are you listening to these days?

Nikolas Jar, Coco Rosie, Tiger Lilies

9

What was the last show (music) you attended?

King raam (an Irainian band)

What was the last exhibit you attended?

That was your exhibition (editor’s note: Ruth Schanbacher’s exhibit) and the other one was Heather Ujiie.

Your website(s):

I don’t have personal website. But I have a digital portfolio on Behance.

www.behance.net/ghiassifar1613

Leave a Reply

