Featured Artist: Kira Dixon / Nebulus Flair

NEBULUS FLAIR

Name: Kira Dixon

Age: 22

Hometown: Philadelphia

Job Description: Visual Artist

Upcoming projects: The october 5th event will take place at  1320 taney street 7-12 & the october 12th event is called Art Sister: A collective gallery ,that will be with shanina dionna and ameerah k. at the urban art gallery… for november 9th the location will be 1310 Broad St and the New York event on november 10th will be at santos party house…

Select Links: Twitter @DearSAMO

IMG_20130810_180205

IMG_20130825_210924

photo_8

Describe your work.

My work is kind of tricky. I would like to call it abstract however; I feel there’s a little bit more to it. I paint exactly what is in my mind most of the times. I can see a picture of something and my brain will totally distort it, but in a way that you may still know what it is.  My work is always colorful. I tell people all the time that I am liable to make anything any color. I love bold, eye grabbing colors, so you can always count on a very vibrant painting from me.

What materials do you work with?

I use Acrylic paints. I haven’t experimented with any other paints because I haven’t fallen out of love with AP yet ha ha. I use canvas boards a lot and stretched canvas occasionally.

What’s your art background?

I’ve only been painting for a year. Before then I never picked up a paintbrush in my life. I’ve never taken any art classes and I honestly don’t plan to in the near future. I want to teach myself and allow the universe to teach me as much as possible before I go spend thousands.

photo_6

What’s inspiring you?

Art for art’s sake is inspiring me. I’m realizing that life is art and we create it ourselves. I also sleep around all my painting and paints so that when I wake up I‘m kind of already in a creating state of mind.

What are you trying to communicate with your art?

I just want people to get a sense of freedom through my art. I want them to see the bold colors and smile and be inspired to just go be spontaneous. I want people to get a sense of me in my art; colorful, Very, very mysterious yet really inviting. I’m a very inspirational person and I just want the masses to see that whatever you wish to create just do it. There is no right and no wrong. Just go create!!!

IMG_20130812_211148photo_2

photo_4

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?

My biggest challenge I feel I face up until this very day is me being such a newcomer. I think that many people think I’m in some sort of phase, because like I said earlier I never painted a day in my life before April of 2012, so I feel that many people who are solidified and known already are sort of like where did she come from with all these bold colors and whatnot. And although it doesn’t bother me one bit being new on the scene, I only give it thought because it may affect how some people would want to work with me or not want to work with me. But still it’s all ok with me because I’m going to create either way so I feel it all evens out in the end.

What is your dream project?

My dream project is to paint a huge, bold and colorful masterpiece in every continent.

What are a few of your favorite spots in your area?

Well I live in Philly so I could talk for hours about some of my fav spots because the art scene here in Philly is out of control. I mean it’s really booming over here. One of my favorite spots is actually an Open Mic event that takes places at The Head House every 1st and 3rd Sundays down on South Street. It’s called Voices in Power. Just a big group of talented people coming together to showcase whatever they want!!! It’s a very inspiring crowd, also very encouraging too. It’s really just a nice place to go and unwind, laugh and end out the week.

Favorite artists and why? People in your field whom you most admire:

JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT hands down is my favorite artist. I say this because I see a lot of myself within him. I loved how he really created whatever he wanted & how he took on such a child like way to paint. I feel he was very genuine when it came to art because he didn’t give it much thought he just went and did it. It consumed him. I watch radiant child at least twice a month, it is very inspiring to me. I love how he crossed out words to make you want to read what is crossed out. It’s a phenomenon how he conjured up those phrases in his head and how each and every last one has a deeper message then we all realize. If you ask me I think he was from another planet hahaha and I just wanna go where his mind went. Not to copy, but just to see what he was working with. He was amazing. My favorite indeed.

What are you listening to these days?

A lot of Jazz. Don Byas, Miles Davis, Thelonious Monk. I also listen to old school hip hop a lot. Groups like The Pharcyde & Wu Tang. I love Tupac and Snoop. When I want to sing my heart out I listen to Erykah Badu, Aaliyah, Amy Winehouse, and Melanie Fiona. When I want to rock out I turn on Jimi Hendrix and The Beatles. My music range changes by the day. I never listen to the radio or anything current, not that I’m opposed to it but it just isn’t my cup of tea. But I will listen to Kendrick Lamar and everyone from TDE. That’s my only exception.

What was the last show (Music) you attended?

I went to see the lovely Erykah Badu earlier this year. She came to Philly and I just had to go. That was my first time seeing her in concert and I’m pretty sure it won’t be my last. I love her.

1374986328430photo photo_1

1370545753217



Screenshot_2013-09-12-19-08-32 Screenshot_2013-09-17-16-03-18-1

Leave a Reply

