Spoken Word Poet: London Bridgez

Age: Old enough to be your big sister 😉

Hometown: Boston

Upcoming projects:

2013 Color Junkie EP release

Rosie: Tribute to Negro Work Songs

Select links:

http://www.LondonBridgez.com

http://www.twitter.com/londonbridgez

http://www.youtube.com/londonspokenword

http://www.facebook.com/londonbridgez143

DiRvinPhotography_0238

Describe your spoken word/ music:

My work revolves around two concepts: love and the female experience.

Do you play any instruments? Harmonica

Do you record or exclusively play live?

I record most of my work in a student with musicians. I love love love live performances. The raw energy & feedback that I get from an audience is priceless.

Do you edit your audio or does someone else do this?

I work with awesome engineers who are artists in their own right. I am active participant in all my creative endeavours yet I am smart enough to leave the tech stuff for them to craft and execute.

I am working on a ’secret’ project that I am really excited about. It will pay homage to African American southern music and folklore by remaking what are known as Negro Work songs. This will be my first project where I am directly connecting the art of spoken word poetry to the oral traditions that sprang out of 16th & 17th century black culture in America. That music is the lasting roots of black music and must be preserved by any means necessary.

What was the last show you attended?

I think the last show I attended was an Earth Wind & Fire concert with my mom. It rocked!

What kind of creative patterns, routines or rituals do you have?

I never eat or drink alcohol before a performance. I don’t talk a lot before or after performances. After a performance I am usually hiding somewhere in a corner of the venue. I am really shy.

Describe your current state of mind / what’s inspiring you?

I have a handful of beautiful relationships with a handful of women who are outside of my age bracket. Its nice to have a mix of older and younger women in my life. I see my life as a continuum, an extension of these sheroes in my life. I am the women in my life who love me and they are me. That inspires me.

Do you have any shows coming up/ past shows you’d like to mention?

Dorchester Fringe Festival May 17th – Boston

Fresh Fruit Festival @ Nuyorican July 21st – NYC

Is any of your music political?

Lies & See ME are two political pieces that I perform a lot. My favorite line in Lies is “What is our national divisible by? The same lip service we are visible by. Lies.” Its important for me as an artist to use my voice as a tool to challenge the systems that surround us.

Which creative medium would you love to pursue but haven’t yet?

I started painting a few months ago and just need more time to pursue it. I have 60% done canvasses all over the my living room. Painting feels therapeutic for me in a way that performing or writing isn’t.

What are you listening to these days? – Janelle Monae, Lily Allen, Carolina Chocolate Drops & Linn.

What are some misconceptions people often have about you?

I think people assume that because I am a poet my live performances are calm & quiet. We get down and get really funky especially when I have my live band. Spoken word can be hype trust me!

What are you reading? Right now I am reading Ulysses & Orwell. I spend a lot of time thinking about ‘classical authors’ and learning the rules they followed in order to figure out which rules I need to break aesthetically.

Favorite Authors: Octavia Butler, Audre Lorde, Emma Bombeck, Joan Didion & Harryette Mullen

Favorite comic strips/ comic books/ graphic novels?

The Walking Dead, Maus & Calvin & Hobbes

Leave a Reply

