Featured Artist: Kelli McGuire

Name: Kelli McGuire
Age: 24
Hometown: Edison, NJ
Current town: Clinton, NJ
Job description: Photographer
Select links: eucrites.tumblr.comflickr.com/kellilynnne

KelliMcGuire_Untitled4

What are you working on/ describe your work:
Right now I’m revisiting a lot of old ideas that never really formed into anything substantial. At the moment I don’t have a darkroom to work in on a regular basis, so I’ve been doing a lot of collages and hand coloring my black and white prints. I’ve also been doing a lot of brainstorming for a new project using the hand coloring technique.

What’s your art background / when did you begin really focusing on art?
I think like most creative people, art has always just been something I did! I was always drawing and making things as a kid, but I don’t think I started focusing on my creative process until college. That’s when it started to make sense that this is something I wanted to do for the rest of my life. Sort of like when someone gets engaged to be married.
KelliMcGuire_Untitled1
What’s been happening in your life/ what’s next for you?
Right now I’m trying to find a full time job as a gallery assistant or a studio assistant. And hopefully moving to the city by September. I’ve shooting more fashion stuff which is really fun. I’m also finally working on my portfolio website.
Describe your current state of mind / what’s inspiring you?
I’ve been a lot happier lately than in the past! Which definitely motivates me and helps keep me moving as far as art goes. When I’m depressed it can certainly inspire me in a far different way, but I have absolutely no motivation to make anything. 
KelliMcGuire_Untitled2
What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?
The biggest challenge for me as an artist and a person is staying motivated and not comparing my self to others. I get discouraged easily, and as an artist you have to get used to rejection and failing, and it’s more or less up to you to put yourself out there. Which has always been a challenge for me since I’m a pretty introverted person.
What are you listening to these days?
Neutral Milk Hotel, Pavement, Joan of Arc, The Smiths, Modest Mouse are probably my top 5 favorite bands that I always listen to. I’ve been listening to Cranes, Beach House, Wild Nothing, and Yo La Tengo all the time too.
8569683625_dfb7ea88cc_h
KelliMcGuire_Untitled8
What are a few of your favorite spots in New Jersey?
Well, recently I discovered the Ringwood Botanical Gardens. Actually I’m not sure if thats the name or not. But I went there in November and I’ve been patiently waiting for Spring so I can re visit and hopefully take some night time photos there.
What is your ideal job?
I would love to work in a gallery for now, and do freelance shooting/ assisting on the side. Basically just being in a creative environment is enough for me.
KelliMcGuire_Untitled9
Favorite artists and people in your field whom you most admire: I’m just going to list some of my favorites, Roger Ballen, Francesca Woodman, Ellen Rogers, Hieronymous Bosch, Claude Cahun, Sanne Sannes, Klimt, Camilla Akrans, Tim Walker, Alex Prager, and Lucas Foglia.
What are you reading?
Right now I’m finishing Slaughterhouse Five for the second time. I just got F Scott Fitzgerald’s Short Stories in the mail and I’m excited to start those.
8569683427_042e744912_h
Favorite authors, fiction:
JD Salinger is probably my favorite fictional writer. I read Catcher in the Rye when I was a teenager and I loved it, but in the past year I read his other novels and short stories and it was the greatest decision I ever made. The Stranger by Camus is another one of my favorites. I love The Fall and The Plague as well. Dostoevsky is another favorite of mine.
Favorite authors, nonfiction:
I guess I don’t read that much non-fiction.
KelliMcGuire_UntitledCollage1
KelliMcGuire_UntitledCollage3
One thought on “Featured Artist: Kelli McGuire

  1. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this weblog and
    I’m inspired! Very useful information specifically the closing phase 🙂 I handle such information a lot. I was seeking this certain info for a very long time. Thanks and good luck.

Leave a Reply

