Featured Artist: Burcu Büyükünal

3
Age:
32

Hometown: Muğla, Turkey

Current town: İstanbul, Turkey

Job description: Jewelry Designer / Instructor

7DR Anxiety

7DR Vision

Bio: I was born in 1980, Ankara, Turkey. I graduated from Industrial Design Department of Istanbul Technical University in 2003. I got the second prize in the Jewelry Design Competition of World Gold Council Turkey in 2002, and decided to pursue a career in jewelry design. I worked for the jewelry gallery “elacindoruknazanpak” for four years following my graduation. I received the Fulbrigt Award in 2006 and moved to USA to study in Metals at SUNY at New Paltz. I completed graduate school in 2009 and returned to Turkey. My work has been exhibited in numerous shows in Turkey and abroad since 2005.

Currently, I am teaching at Maden Contemporary Jewellery Studio that I cofounded with Selen Özus along with design and jewelry classes in two universities.

Select links:

http://www.madenistanbul.com

http://www.selenozus.com

4

10

What are you working on/ describe your work:

I make wearable jewelry and conceptual art that questions jewelry and its relationship to body.

What’s your art background / when did you begin really focusing on art?

I started to make things at early an early age, like many other artists. Then I got BSc in Industrial Design in 2003 and MFA in Metals in 2009.

ABuyukfotoflat2ufak

What’s been happening in your life/ what’s next for you?

I have been working in the field of jewelry since 2003. After graduate school, I started to make conceptual work besides making wearable jewelry. I am planning keeping on this track. I also opened a studio with my business partner. We are teaching jewelry classes and workshops there. We are planning to improve the studio and become a jewelry school in the future.

Describe your current state of mind / what’s inspiring you?

New work always starts with a question for me. I would ask why something is in a certain way and if I can make it differently, or how far can I go with an idea I have.

SSY_7475a

SSY_9592a

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?

To deal with situations; that I have to adapt to the way the real world works.

Has the meaning of your work changed over time?

I like to see my work as projects that start and finish at some point. Then I look for something else to struggle with. All the work I make have common sides, but the meaning can definitely change. I guess, my method always stays the same.

terrifying beauty1

terrifying beauty2

What are you listening to these days?

Jeff Buckley.

What is your ideal job?

It is what I am doing right now: Part-time teaching and making work.

Favorite artists and why/ people in your field whom you most admire:

I don’t admire at particular works. I admire any artist that I can feel his / her passion. Two examples would be Marina Abramoviç and Rodin.

terrifying beauty3

terrifying beauty4

What are you reading?

Lately, I have started a few nonfiction books, but never finish them.

Your website(s):

http://www.burcubuyukunal.com

http://www.madenistanbul.com

http://www.facebook.com/bbjewelry

http://www.facebook.com/madenistanbul

Leave a Reply

