Featured Artist: Bill Vielehr

Age: 68

Hometown: Boulder, Colorado

Job description: Full-time artist / starving / making a living

Bio: Born in Chicago, grew up free in Colorado in the 50s. I was a hood, a hot rodder, a woman-chasing punk drunk. I went to Europe in 1964 at age 19, came back a hipster and a wannabe intellectual. Went to three colleges, all studying art, and practiced at hippiedom, psychedelics and so forth.

Selected links:

http://facebook.com/pages/bill-vielehr/268457479834494

http://www.facebook.com/bill.vielehr

http://www.vielehr.com/

http://chicago-outdoor-sculptures.blogspot.com/2012/08/temporary-exhibit-lakefront-2012-for.html

http://youtu.be/pESKAsvBEt4

Human Glyph
Human Glyph

What are you working on now? I am currently doing drawings and wax drawings, preparing to produce more sculptures based on marking and abstract drawing transferred to 3-D forms.

What is your art background / when did you begin focusing on art? I became interested in art in high school and I always pursued it.

Surface Enlightenment
Surface Enlightenment

What’s been happening in your life / what’s next for you? I am struggling to sell right now, but I have had great years in the past, and I expect more soon. I was awarded a $200,000 commission but I can’t start on it until they come up with the funding.

Describe your current state of mind and what’s inspiring you? Mostly thinking about my legacy and trying to make the next significant move with my work.

Inadvertent Statement
Inadvertent Statement

Any exhibits coming up / past exhibits you’d like to mention? Currently: CSI/Parks Exhibition 2012 Chicago, and Art of the State, Arvada Art Center, Denver, Colorado.

Is any of your work political? The works are tactile and visual, but no propaganda per se.

Three Rogue Columns
Three Rogue Columns

What is the biggest challenge you face as an artist? Trying to gain national exposure while remaining in Colorado.

Has the meaning of your work changed over time? I have been only interested in speaking to the eyes my whole career, yet tactile texture has come to dominate my work.

Metal Response
Metal Response

What are you listening to these days? Jazz mostly, some rock, some new music.

What are a few of your favorite spots in the area in which you live? My studio in downtown Boulder, which is six blocks from the city’s hub, and one block from fishing Boulder Creek, which I do every chance I get.

What is your ideal job? A commission where only my ideas are being realized.

Human Glyph Series
Human Glyph Series

Favorite artists: I like most of the hard material sculptors, like diSuvero, Hunt, Henry, and Smith. In most contemporary hard material artists I like all abstract painters from Pollack to Wiley.

Favorite authors: Vonnegut, Heller, Wolf, Robbins.

What do you read: Mostly New York Times, Sculpture Magazine, Art in America, The New Yorker, and all the local rags.

What was the first piece of artwork you bought: I have traded for many pieces, but my most important purchase is probably a Tom Dixon (out of Taos, New Mexico).

Timeless Apparitions
Timeless Apparitions
2 thoughts on “Featured Artist: Bill Vielehr

  1. […] Featured Artist: Bill Vielehr « Manufactured Dissent on Feb 19, 2013 at taos nm – Google Blog Search: … Art in America, The New Yorker, and all the local rags. What was the first piece of artwork you bought: I have traded for many pieces, but my most important purchase is probably a Tom Dixon (out of Taos, New Mexico). Timeless Apparitions … […]

Leave a Reply

