Featured Artist: Crystal Shephard

Age: 25

Hometown/ Current townPhiladelphia

Job description:  Graphic Designer

Select links: http://crystalshephard.com        http://artjarstudios.com

What are you working on?

Currently, I am mainly focused on revamping my brand. I have been situating old and new art/pieces on my blog while brainstorming new ideas. I am constantly exploring new approaches.

cshephard_airratcollab
What’s your art background? 

I earned a BFA in Gra[phic Design from the University of the Arts. I took an interest in art at a young age and really began focusing on it in high school.

 

What’s been happening in your life?

Over the past two years, I have been traveling often, documenting my excursions on social media and blogs. I have continued to make more art and submit my work to art shows.


Any exhibits coming up/ past exhibits you’d like to mention? 
 

I am consistently looking for open calls for art. I’ve always enjoyed an event in Smithville, NJ called the Art Walk, which I’ve submitted to and attended in previous years. I became friends with the organizers of the event who own a store in that area called, “Underground.” 


Is any of your work political? 

I tend to gravitate away from politics in my work. While I hope my art does garner an emotional response, I’d rather it not be gathered through personal political beliefs.

cshephard_exquisitehorror

Has the meaning of your work changed over time? 

Yes, evolution is a part of an artist’s work, whether they know it or not. As I grow, so does my art.

 

Are you involved with any organizations/ do you collaborate with other artists? 

Not currently. I was an intern for the Vincent Michael Gallery (formerly located in the Schmidt’s Piazza) and worked at Second State Press (for two sessions). I have collaborated with artists Mike Die and The Air Rat in the past and would love to collaborate with more artists in the future.

 

What are you listening to these days? 

I constantly listen to music and continue to try to broaden my range, but i always find my self going back to the music I love most. Currently, my playlists consists of The Get Up Kids, New Found Glory, Into It. Over It., and The Menzingers.

 

What are a few of your favorite spots in Philadelphia? 

Right now, I’m really in love with Sabrina’s as I’m obsessed with their delicious pumpkin pancakes.

 

What is your ideal job?

My ideal job would be with a company that is interesting and exciting, I love making art and to have a company that supported my ideas and allowed growth in my art while amongst great people would be ideal. I would love to work with the Philadelphia Phillies’ Graphic Department, Marvel Studios, Disney or a comfortable design studio in Philadelphia.

cshephard_skullheart

Favorite artists and why/ people in your field whom you most admire:

Tara McPherson is a personal favorite. She exacts a beautiful color palette and I love the figures she draws. Tara’s work is usually female-oriented, expressing heart-break or a broken individual. Tara’s artwork really resonates with me, as I tend to wear my heart on my sleeve. My first tattoo is inspired by her pieces.

 

What are you reading?  

I am currently reading “The Casual Vacancy” by J.K. Rowling.

 

Favorite authors, fiction: 

I am a HUGE fan of F.Scott Fitzgerald and Edgar Allen Poe; they’ve inspired some of my art. J.K. Rowling is a guilty pleasure of mine.


What was the first piece of artwork you bought/ do you buy a lot of artwork?  

I do buy a sizable amount of art, mainly prints from websites and originals from local art shows. My purchases range from many local Philadelphia artists to more well known artists.

 

Your website(s): 

http://crystalshephard.com

http://artjarstudios.com

M82: Images From Space Telescopes Produce Stunning View of Starburst Galaxy

Leave a Reply

