Featured Artist: Jennifer Lauren Wright

Age: 27

Current town: Chicago, IL

Job description: Photographer, Painter, MUA

Upcoming projects: Pancakes and Booze Underground Art Show in Chicago, IL March 1st @ Reggies 2109 S. State St. 8pm-2am

Select links: www.JenniferLaurenWright.com

IMG_9931_2

What are you working on?

I’m working on a yearlong project titled “Sexual Revolution” its photographs and paintings inspired by Robert Mapplethorpe but using my own aesthetic and making it modern.

What’s your art background / when did you begin really focusing on art?

I grew up in an artistic household my mother is a photographer and so is my grandfather. So that was a direct influence I was taught first hand at age 6 how to develop and print images in my grandfather’s darkroom, it’s in my blood. But I also paint – that I learned on my own and developed my own aesthetic.

_DSC4809

Describe your current state of mind / what’s inspiring you?

Right now it’s been hard to sleep because my mind keep creating. Right now my house looks like and art gallery exploded, there are paintings everywhere! Sounds and colors, movement, textures – all of this has been inspiring me.

Any exhibits coming up/ past exhibits you’d like to mention? Is any of your work political?

I have a small show coming up on March 1st called Pancakes and Booze Underground Art Show. It’s just a fun way to socialize with other creative people and get your work seen.

IMG_9998

What is one of the biggest challenges you face as an artist?

I would have to say that acceptance of my work and explaining it to others.

What are you listening to these days?

Gary Clark Jr,  Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Lana Del Rey

IMG_9896

Favorite artists and why/ people in your field whom you most admire:

William J. Ryan

Shirley J. Ryan

Robert Mapplethorpe

Andy Warhol

Deborah Turbeville

-They all stayed true to themselves and created from the heart. They are/were true artists.

_DSC4673

Your website(s):

www.Jenniferlaurenwright.com

www.Facebook.com/Jenniferlaurenwright

www.JenniferlaurenWright.tumblr.com

_DSC4661

_DSC4667

Leave a Reply

