Featured Artist: Clayton Thomas

Age: 42

Hometown:  Medford NJ

Current town:  Philadelphia

Job description:  Server at Monk’s Cafe

What are you working on?

Currently working or have planned several paintings and projects centering around the Pop culture of my childhood.

IMG_0590

What’s your background / when did you begin really focusing on art?

No formal training. I began focusing on art in high school.

What’s been happening in your life/ what’s next for you?

Recently engaged! Starting on those plans. Working on several painting ideas and a publishing project.  Illustrating my Great-great-great-Grandfathers Civil War Letters.

Describe your current state of mind / what’s inspiring you?

After my Mother passed away last June I took several months off from any serious work. Now planning a series of paintings that allow me to re-visit my childhood through the Pop culture icons and various things I was into as a child.

Is any of your work political?

I purposely remain non-political in my work. At least as far as I am concerned. I have had a few people question themes and images in the past though.

flintstonessinister

Biggest challenge as an artist?

Getting work out there, steady sales, maintaining momentum when producing new work.

Has the meaning of your work changed over time?

It’s constantly changing but I feel it’s more of a pendulum effect.  I tend to re-visit the same handful of themes or subjects as I get older.

Favorite artists and why?

The usual suspects I suppose. Matisse, Picasso, the mid century american painters like Pollock and Rosenquist. Jasper Johns. DeKooning.

IMG_0572IMG_0602street players

What are you reading?
Currently reading Damien Echols’ Life after Death.

Favorite authors, fiction:
Hardboiled stuff.  David Goodis, James Ellroy, Jim Thompson. Chandler and the lot.

Your website(s):

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Clayton-Thomas-Paintings/116472848390010

www.claytonthomaspaintings.com


herprince

Leave a Reply

